RIP: Unapologetic TRUTH Warrior, Journalist and Author Alexander Cockburn dies at 71

Posted: 2012/07/23 in Society, Universal Fusionism
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

An interesting event happened to me when I woke up on Saturday morning. As I was doing my morning “hello” to the wild birds that usually greet me from my balcony, I had a sparrow that just died, waiting at my door. I picked up the beautiful creature, whose body was still warm, in tearful compassion and held it between the palm of my hands. As I gazed at it, I was prompted sing one of my favorite old gospel hymns I learned as a child, His Eye on the Sparrow.

I looked up in the sky and was curious what this all meant. I saw, among the clouds, a face of a man and next to it were shapes resembling four letters. I was trying to figure it out and in my humble plea, I asked Heaven to give me insight as knowing myself, I will spend the entire day solving this strange puzzle.

I then heard a whisper in my ear, “Alex”, which disturbed my morning equilibrium. I started praying because one of the people who is closest to my heart is named Alex (well, one of his names). He is the UN Security Council Special Envoy to the Arab Nations whom Sarcozy was trying so very hard to murder last year. I have been praying for his protection every day since last year.

However, I have a conviction to not dwell so much in negative thinking and worrying. Hence, I let it go and trust in the Higher Powers that be. I remained in a meditative state all day, and just opted to allow the events of the day to unfold itself.

Later in the day, news broke out: Alexander Cockburn (1941-2012), TSR Contributing writer and the co-editor of the political newsletter Counterpunch has died on Saturday in Bad Salzhausen, Germany at the age of 71 after a secret battle with cancer.

Alexander Cockburn (pronounced COE-burn) is an Irish-American writer born in Scotland in June 6, 1941. He was educated in Ireland, England and Scotland, and graduated with honors from Oxford University in 1963. He is survived by a daughter, Daisy Cockburn; two brothers, the author Andrew Cockburn and Patrick Cockburn, a British journalist, as well as several nephews and nieces, including the actress Olivia Wilde, a daughter of Andrew Cockburn.

Alex has been a journalist since 1973, before I was born, and has established a reputation as one of the foremost reporters and commentators by writing newspaper and magazine columns for decades whose areas of interest include the American political scene, economics, the environment, labor issues and international policy. Travelling extensively, he also lectured regularly on environmental issues and global politics.

He is the author of a bi-weekly column for The Nation called “Beat the Devil” and also writes a syndicated newspaper column, which is distributed nationally by Creators Syndicate and has appeared regularly in such papers as the Los Angeles TimesPhiladelphia Inquirer,San Francisco ExaminerMinneapolis Star-Tribune and Detroit Free Press. In 1987, Cockburn authored a highly successful collection of essays, some autobiographical, entitled “Corruptions of Empire” for which he was called “the most gifted polemicist now writing in English” by the Times Literary Supplement. Cockburn also co-authored the acclaimed “The Fate of the Forest, Developers, Destroyers and Defenders of the Amazon.” He has appeared on numerous national television programs, including interviews with Ted Koppel and Phil Donohue.

With all those impressive accolades, however, not many knew of Alex’s personal battle from that evil disease called cancer for he only disclosed his illness to a few people.

Read the rest at The Santos Republic.

Tell me your thoughts!

